ABOUT

Since its founding, UTurn has been grounded in our mission to create an environment that encourages fellowship, inspires leadership, and spreads hope. UTurn is a community devoted to elevating the lives of those in the Greater Richmond area through our hospitality and sports programming. We are committed to constantly finding innovative and relevant ways to engage every member of your family, from children to parents, aunts and uncles to grandparents, and those friends who you feel are like family. Always warm and welcoming, UTurn is a safe haven and a home away from home for our community. 

OUR HISTORY

In 1991, Paul Manning founded U-Turn Sports Performance Academy (now known simply as “UTurn”). His original mission was to teach tennis strokes to youth on the city courts of Byrd Park, which he did through regular training sessions and mentorship. 

Thanks to the generous support of Tom and Nancy Chewning and many other donors, UTurn renovated a 160,000 sq. ft. building into an indoor sports facility and the organization’s sports offerings widened to include basketball, football, soccer, and volleyball. The expansive facility in midtown Richmond has also seasonally hosted Volleyball, Futsal, Basketball, Gymnastics, Cheering, and Wrestling Tournaments. 

While the first twenty years of UTurn primarily focused on the expansive growth of its capacity to deliver quality sports programming, leadership development skills, and mentoring to the youth of Richmond, in 2012, UTurn expanded on its mission to support the faith community by offering affordable worship and programming space. In 2019, UTurn again expanded on their mission to further support the nonprofit community by powering the launch of The Collaboratory of Virginia (“CVA”). CVA is Richmond’s first and the nation’s largest co-working space exclusively for nonprofits.

OUR TEAM
Adrienne Wright

President + CEO

awright@u-turn.org

Celia Powell

Sr. Accounting Specialist

cpowell@u-turn.org

Elizabeth Ellinger

ED of Athletic Programming eellinger@u-turn.org

G McDowell
Jaron James

Old Dominion Flag Football Director jjames@u-turn.org

Kevin Pond

Technical Director + ODVA Boys Head Coach

kpond@u-turn.org

Khiry Cooper

Director of Community Programs + Memberships

kcooper@u-turn.org

Lisa Harding

Systems + Process Improvement Manager

lharding@u-turn.org

Manuel Flores III

Director of Facility Maintenance and Operations

mflores@u-turn.org

Phil Falke

Sports + Recreation Coordinator

pflake@u-turn.org

Rasheed Wright

Old Dominion Basketball Director rwright@u-turn.org

Rebekah Jewers

Guest Experience Coordinator rjewers@u-turn.org

About Page Image.jpg

CAREERS

Interested in joining our dynamic team who work to make a difference in the Greater Richmond community through encouraging fellowship, inspiring leadership, and spreading hope? Check out our open roles and apply today!

SIGN UP FOR OUR NEWSLETTER

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

©2021 by UTURN. Proudly created by CreativeMktGroup.