About

Since its founding, UTurn has been grounded in our mission to create an environment that encourages fellowship, inspires leadership, and spreads hope. UTurn is a community devoted to elevating the lives of those in the Greater Richmond area through our hospitality and sports programming. We are committed to constantly finding innovative and relevant ways to engage every member of your family, from children to parents, aunts and uncles to grandparents, and those friends who you feel are like family. Always warm and welcoming, UTurn is a safe haven and a home away from home for our community. 

OUR HISTORY

In 1991, Paul Manning founded U-Turn Sports Performance Academy (now known simply as “UTurn”). His original mission was to teach tennis strokes to youth on the city courts of Byrd Park, which he did through regular training sessions and mentorship. 

Thanks to the generous support of Tom and Nancy Chewning and many other donors, UTurn renovated a 160,000 sq. ft. building into an indoor sports facility and the organization’s sports offerings widened to include basketball, football, soccer, and volleyball. The expansive facility in midtown Richmond has also seasonally hosted Volleyball, Futsal, Basketball, Gymnastics, Cheering, and Wrestling Tournaments. 

While the first twenty years of UTurn primarily focused on the expansive growth of its capacity to deliver quality sports programming, leadership development skills, and mentoring to the youth of Richmond, in 2012, UTurn expanded on its mission to support the faith community by offering affordable worship and programming space. In 2019, UTurn again expanded on their mission to further support the nonprofit community by powering the launch of The Collaboratory of Virginia (“CVA”). CVA is Richmond’s first and the nation’s largest co-working space exclusively for nonprofits.

2

meet our staff

IMG_5774_edited.jpg
4A3A1247.jpg
4A3A1019_edited.jpg
Adrienne Wright

President + CEO

Awright@u-turn.org

Khiry Cooper

Director of Community Programs + Memberships

Kcooper@u-turn.org

Elizabeth Ellinger

Exec. Director of Sports Programming

Eellinger@u-turn.org

4A3A0966_edited.jpg
4A3A0971_edited.jpg
4A3A0976_edited.jpg
Rebekah Jewers

Director of Human Resources 

Rjewers@u-turn.org

Lisa Harding

Systems + Process Improvement Manager

Lharding@u-turn.org

Manuel Flores III

Director of Facility Maintenance and Operations

Mflores@u-turn.org

4A3A1000_edited.jpg
4A3A1049_edited.jpg
4A3A1054_edited.jpg
Laura Marcuson

Associate Director of Sports Programming 

LMarcuson@u-turn.org

Kasey Ogden

Sports + Recreation Coordinator

Kogden@u-turn.org

Kevin Pond

Technical Director + ODVA Boys Head Coach

Kpond@u-turn.org

4A3A1013_edited.jpg
Screen Shot 2021-09-17 at 11.43.49 AM.png
Starr Mallory Woods

Social Media and Marketing Coordinator
swoods@u-turn.org

G McDowell

Bookkeeper

Accounting@u-turn.org

Celia Powell

Sr. Accounting Specialist

Cpowell@u-turn.org

4A3A1255.jpg
4A3A1241-2 (1).jpg
4A3A1250-2 (1).jpg
Faith Sykes

Guest Experience Coordinator  

Fsykes@u-turn.org

E’monnie Jackson

Memberships Programs Coordinator 

membership@u-turn.org

Duane Simms

Memberships Experience Coordinator 

membership@u-turn.org

CAREERS

Interested in joining our dynamic team who work to make a difference in the Greater Richmond community through encouraging fellowship, inspiring leadership, and spreading hope? Check out our open roles and apply today!