ABOUT

ABOUT US

Since its founding, UTurn has been grounded in our mission to create an environment that encourages fellowship, inspires leadership, and spreads hope. UTurn is a community devoted to elevating the lives of those in the Greater Richmond area through our hospitality and sports programming. We are committed to constantly finding innovative and relevant ways to engage every member of your family, from children to parents, aunts and uncles to grandparents, and those friends who you feel are like family. Always warm and welcoming, UTurn is a safe haven and a home away from home for our community. 

OUR HISTORY

In 1991, Paul Manning founded U-Turn Sports Performance Academy (now known simply as “UTurn”). His original mission was to teach tennis strokes to youth on the city courts of Byrd Park, which he did through regular training sessions and mentorship. 

Thanks to the generous support of Tom and Nancy Chewning and many other donors, UTurn renovated a 160,000 sq. ft. building into an indoor sports facility and the organization’s sports offerings widened to include basketball, football, soccer, and volleyball. The expansive facility in midtown Richmond has also seasonally hosted Volleyball, Futsal, Basketball, Gymnastics, Cheering, and Wrestling Tournaments. 

While the first twenty years of UTurn primarily focused on the expansive growth of its capacity to deliver quality sports programming, leadership development skills, and mentoring to the youth of Richmond, in 2012, UTurn expanded on its mission to support the faith community by offering affordable worship and programming space. In 2019, UTurn again expanded to further support the nonprofit community by powering the launch of The Collaboratory of Virginia (“CVA”), a center for nonprofit programming, capacity building, and resource sharing. CVA is Richmond’s first coworking space for nonprofits.

MEET THE TEAM

IMG_5774_edited.jpg

Adrienne Wright
President + CEO
awright@u-turn.org

FB_IMG_1595115464551.jpg

Margaret Taylor
Chief Operations Officer
mtaylor@u-turn.org

IMG_1600_edited.jpg

Karen Stevensen
Chief Financial Officer
finance@u-turn.org

4A3A1241-2 (1).jpg

Manuel Flores
Director of Facilities
mflores@u-turn.org

Screen Shot 2022-06-10 at 3.18.41 PM.png
ByJacquiPhoto-6788_MargaretTaylor.jpg
1642626015170.jpeg
4A3A0976_edited.jpg

Holly Gordon
Senior Community Programs Mgr.
hgordon@u-turn.org

Bradley Haislip
Senior Membership Manager
bhaislip@u-turn.org

IMG-9212.jpg

Duane Simms
Senior Athletic Operations Mgr.
dsimms@u-turn.org

IMG_1599.jpg

Brittiany Dubose
Accounting Manager
bdubose@u-turn.org

Del Harris
Basketball Manager
dharris@u-turn.org

Josie Owusu
Membership Administrative Mgr.
jowusu@u-turn.org

CAREERS

Interested in joining our dynamic team who work to make a difference in the Greater Richmond community through encouraging fellowship, inspiring leadership, and spreading hope? Check out our open roles and apply today!