ABOUT

ABOUT US

Since its founding, UTurn has been grounded in our mission to create an environment that encourages fellowship, inspires leadership, and spreads hope. UTurn is a community devoted to elevating the lives of those in the Greater Richmond area through our hospitality and sports programming. We are committed to constantly finding innovative and relevant ways to engage every member of your family, from children to parents, aunts and uncles to grandparents, and those friends who you feel are like family. Always warm and welcoming, UTurn is a safe haven and a home away from home for our community. 

OUR HISTORY

In 1991, Paul Manning founded U-Turn Sports Performance Academy (now known simply as “UTurn”). His original mission was to teach tennis strokes to youth on the city courts of Byrd Park, which he did through regular training sessions and mentorship. 

Thanks to the generous support of Tom and Nancy Chewning and many other donors, UTurn renovated a 160,000 sq. ft. building into an indoor sports facility and the organization’s sports offerings widened to include basketball, football, soccer, and volleyball. The expansive facility in midtown Richmond has also seasonally hosted Volleyball, Futsal, Basketball, Gymnastics, Cheering, and Wrestling Tournaments. 

While the first twenty years of UTurn primarily focused on the expansive growth of its capacity to deliver quality sports programming, leadership development skills, and mentoring to the youth of Richmond, in 2012, UTurn expanded on its mission to support the faith community by offering affordable worship and programming space. In 2019, UTurn again expanded on their mission to further support the nonprofit community by powering the launch of The Collaboratory of Virginia (“CVA”), a center for nonprofit programming, capacity building, and resource sharing. CVA is Richmond’s first and the nation’s largest co-working space exclusively for nonprofits.

MEET THE TEAM

IMG_5774_edited.jpg

Adrienne Wright
President + CEO
awright@u-turn.org

Margaret Taylor
Chief Operations Officer
mtaylor@u-turn.org

Karen Stevensen
Chief Financial Officer
finance@u-turn.org

1608837241431.jpeg

Brittiany Dubose
Accounting Manager
bdubose@u-turn.org

4A3A1241-2 (1).jpg

Duane Simms
Operations Manager
dsimms@u-turn.org

Holly Gordon
Director of
The Collaboratory of Virginia

hgordon@u-turn.org

IMG_8523.jpg

Starr Mallory Woods
Marketing Manager
swoods@u-turn.org

Bradley Haislip
Senior Membership Manager
bhaislip@u-turn.org

Facetune_02-02-2022-09-04-54.jpg

Erica Buday
Membership Manager
ebuday@u-turn.org

Laura Marcuson
Associate Dir. of Athletic Programs
lmarcuson@u-turn.org

IMG_1599.jpg
4A3A1049_edited.jpg
IMG-9212.jpg

Del Harris
Director of Basketball Operations
dharris@u-turn.org

4A3A1054_edited.jpg

Kevin Pond
ODVA Technical Director + Boys Head Coach
kpond@u-turn.org

CAREERS

Interested in joining our dynamic team who work to make a difference in the Greater Richmond community through encouraging fellowship, inspiring leadership, and spreading hope? Check out our open roles and apply today!

Kasey Ogden
Sports
Coordinator

kogden@u-turn.org

ByJacquiPhoto-6788_MargaretTaylor.jpg
1642626015170.jpeg
IMG_1600_edited.jpg
4A3A0976_edited.jpg

Manuel Flores
Director of Facilities + Operations
mflores@u-turn.org

4A3A1000_edited.jpg
FB_IMG_1595115464551.jpg

Josie Owusu
Membership Manager
jowusu@u-turn.org